New Police Album!

Apparently The Police are touring to support their new CD which comes out June 5th (NEXT WEEK!). The new Police CD is entitled simply “The Police” and marks the 30th anniversary of their recording debut in 1977. Makes me feel old…

The album itself has 28 of their biggest hits from all five of their studio recordings. Here are the tracks that are going to be on the album:

Disc: 1
1. Fallout
2. Can’t Stand Losing You
3. Next to You
4. Roxanne
5. Truth Hits Everybody
6. Hole in My Life
7. So Lonely
8. Message in a Bottle
9. Reggatta de Blanc
10. Bring on the Night
11. Walking on the Moon
12. Don’t Stand So Close to Me
13. Driven to Tears
14. Canary in a Coalmine

Disc: 2
1. Do Do Do de da da Da
2. Voices Inside My Head
3. Invisible Sun
4. Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic
5. Spirits in the Material World
6. Demolition Man
7. Every Breath You Take
8. Synchronicity I
9. Wrapped Around Your Finger
10. Walking in Your Footsteps
11. Synchronicity II
12. King of Pain
13. Murder by Numbers
14. Tea in the Sahara

I was actually introduced to the Police in 1982 or so and they are one of the groups that really mark a specific time in my life along with a few other bands. This Police CD looks to be pretty good, and while it is previously released material everything on it is darn good and will make a nice addition to my music collection.

I can remember listening to Roxanne and Every Little Thing She Does is Magic constantly when I was 16 or so. Even though I was always into Heavy Metal there are a few bands that were not that just stick in my head and make me want to sing the words.

Roxanne…You don’t need to turn on the red light…

Well, you darn sure don’t need to hear my singing, that’s when the dogs start howling, but you get the idea.

Right now it looks like the closest they will be coming to Atlanta are two dates down in Tampa in July and the Bonnaroo festival in Manchester Tennessee next month, although that may change. I don’t get to go to too many concerts anymore, but it would be really cool to go see them this summer. It would certainly give me an excuse to go to Tennessee this summer. There are something like 100+ artists performing at the festival. That would be cool.

Also included in the new Police CD is a foldout poster from 1979.


Now I feel really old. I was thirteen in 1979. I may post more about it later. I haven’t checked to see if it’s going to be available on iTunes yet, but with the Poster this may be one hard copy that I want to add to my collection unopened and then buy the music itself online…

Comments |14|

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Legend *) Required fields are marked
**) You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>
Category: Entertainment